Site web Université de Toulouse


Sur ce site

Sur le Web du CNRS

Accueil du site > Equipes > A. BOUSSEKSOU


Put on-line by Lionel Rechignat, Lionel Salmon

Switchable Molecular Materials


Introduction, research themes

The “Molecular Physical Properties” group has been created in January 2003 and changed its name to “Switchable Molecular Materials” in september 2006. The group conducts its research along four main lines

Bistable molecular compounds with switchable physical properties (magnetic, optical, electrical): physical measurements, theoretical approaches and applications. A special emphasis is placed on spin-crossover molecular materials.

Size reduction effects (nano-objects and thin films) on the physical properties of molecular materials. Development of optical technics for the detection of nanometric single objects. Construction of devices (memories, sensors, etc.).

Development of physical and spectroscopic measurements under high hydrostatic pressure (10 kbar), in intense pulsed magnetic field (60 Tesla), under light irradiation (UV-VIS-NIR), at low-temperatures (2 K) and their combinations.

Theoritical approach of equilibrium and dynamical properties of spin transition, introduction, analytical and numerical studies of new elastic models, spatio-temporal aspects analysis of nucleation and domain growth processes using Monte Carlos methods, finite size effects study on thermodynamical and critical properties of spin crossover materials... .

Permanent Staff (01/01/2011)

Azzedine BOUSSEKSOU, Directeur de Recherche, CNRS (Responsable)

azzedine.bousseksou at
+33 5 61 33 31 69

Gabor MOLNAR, Chargé de Recherche, CNRS

gabor.molnar at
+33 5 61 33 31 90

Lionel SALMON, Chargé de Recherche, CNRS

lionel.salmon at
+33 5 61 33 31 78

William NICOLAZZI, Maître de Conférences, UPS

william.nicolazzi at
+33 5 61 33 32 27

Lionel RECHIGNAT, Technicien CNRS

lionel.rechignat at
+33 5 61 33 31 10

Non-permanent Staff (01/01/2013)

Carlos M. QUINTERO, Post doc, (Nanophysics)

Carlos BARTUAL, Post doc (Chemistry)

José SANCHEZ COSTA, Post doc (Chemistry, Marie Curie Fellowship)

Gautier FELIX, PhD student (Theory)

Khaldoun ABDUL KADER, PhD student (Nanophysics)

Edna HERNANDEZ GONZALEZ, PhD student, (Nanophysics)

Olena KRAIEVA, PhD student, (Nanophysics)

Haonan PENG, PhD student, (Chemistry)

Yuri SULEYMANOV, PhD student, (Chemistry)

Constantin LEFTER, PhD student, (Nanophysics)

Mirko MIKOLASEK, Master student, (Théory)


HIGHLIGHTS (fichier pdf)

In 2011, the Price of the journal "La Recherche" (in Chemistry) was awarded to the group for the elaboration of fluorescent bistable nanoparticles


PUBLICATIONS 2003 - 2012 (fichier pdf)

Room Temperature Magnetic Detection of Spin Switching in Nanosized Spin-Crossover Materials, Tran Quang Hung, Ferial Terki, Souleymane Kamara, Mourad Dehbaoui, Salam Charar, Brajalal Sinha, CheolGi Kim, Philippe Gandit, Il’ya A. Gural-skiy, Gabor Molnar, Lionel Salmon, Helena J. Shepherd, and Azzedine Bousseksou, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2013, 52, 1185 –1188.



Contract with the Agence National de la Recherche : SWITCHELEC (2013-2016), CHEMOSWITCH (2010-2013), CROSS-NANOMAT (2010-2013) et THERMOSPIN (2010-2014)


COLLABORATIONS (fichier pdf)



Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination

Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique

205, route de Narbonne 31077 Toulouse Cedex 04, France

Tél. : +33 (0)5 61 33 31 90 / 09 / 78

Fax : +33 (0)5 61 55 30 03

Version Française